Skip Navigation

Education Commission

The purpose of the Education Commission is to act as a consultative body to both parish pastors and the principal of St. Joseph Catholic School. The Education Commission consists of eight to twelve members serving a three-year term.

The Education Commission steers seven main committees, which offer advice to the operation of the school.  These include Building & Grounds, Curriculum, Finance / Long Range Planning, Legislative, Public Relations & Marketing, School Guidelines, and Technology.

The Education Commission meets monthly.  Please review the handbook for additional information and meeting attendance policy.  If you have an interest in joining the Education Commission, please contact the pastor of our parish.

Education Commission Members

Role                                                        Member

Pastor                                                      Father  Michael Andrejek
Principal                                                  Mary Jo Sarff
President                                                 Daniel Brian
Committee Members                              
                                                                Mary Hudson
                                                                Daniel Brian
                                                                Jay Wendelin
                                                                Amanda Seelye
                                                                Nicole Allen
                                                                Lori Behrends
                                                                Amy Mefford
                                                                Al Johnson
                                                                Gabe Hart
                                                                John Shallenberger 
Liasons:                                                   Colette Willoughby, Bob Small,  DRE, SJS Teacher
Education Commission Committee Chairs & Liasons

Faith in our Future Committee


Catholic Identity/ Academic ExcellenceAl Johnson (Chair), Mary Hudson, Amy Mefford, Nicole Allen, DRE (Liason), SJS Teacher (Liason)
Enrollment Management/Marketing/DevelopmentGabe Hart (Chair), Amanda Seelye, Lori Behrends, Christa Larkner, Colette Willoughby (Liason)
Finance Daniel Brian (Chair), Mrs. Sarff, Father Andrejek
Facilities Jay Wendelin (Chair), John Shallenberger, Bob Small (liason)


St. Joseph School Value Proposition

Choose St. Joseph School and choose everything for your child.  We offer traditional Catholic values, a safe, family-like environment; a challenging curriculum with supportive teachers and opportunities to excel outside the classroom.

  • Foundations in Spirituality (school Masses, daily prayer, preparation for sacraments, integration of faith in daily values)
  • Academics (11:1 student-teacher ratio; outstanding student performance on Iowa Test of Basic Skills; resource teacher for K-8; fully accredited by National Catholic Education Association, North Central Association, and Illinois State Board of Education)
  • School-wide service projects (St. Vincent DePaul food pantry; Red Cross; OSF Linus Blanket Project; KidKnits; Sophia’s Soup Kitchen; visits to homebound and nursing homes; partner with Schramm Educational Center)
  • Student Activities (participate in IESA athletics and scholastic bowl; speech; band; student council)

St. Joseph School has been a place of academic excellence in a setting of Catholic values and tradition since 1953.  If you want more for your child than a basic education, choose St. Joseph School.